Poetry Ireland, the African American… – Poetry Ireland / Éigse Éireann | Facebook

Poetry Ireland / Éigse Éireann, profile picture

Poetry Ireland, the African American Irish Diaspora Network and the Embassy & Consulates of Ireland USA invite you to The Fire Gilders: A Celebration of Women Poets, marking Brigid’s Day & Black History Month. This online transatlantic event takes place on Monday 1 February at 6pm GMT / 1pm EST

In Ireland, February opens with Brigid’s Day, or #Imbolc, a celebration of the patron saint of poets and the first day of spring. In the United States, February marks the start of #BlackHistoryMonth, honouring centuries of achievements by Black Americans.

This lineup features African American poets of Irish heritage, Amanda Johnston and Kimberley Reyes, alongside Ireland-based poets Nithy Kasa and Felicia Olusanya, and will be MC’d by Clara Rose Thornton. The audience will hear live readings and performances of the poets’ own work, as well as reflections on their heritage and insights into the women who most influenced and inspired them.

For more details, and to book a free ticket, visit the link below:
https://ed.gr/c5815

📷 of Felispeaks - Garrett White
📷 of Nithy Kasa - Matthew Thompson
📷 of Clara Rose Thornton - Cameron Wilson

POETRYIRELAND.IE

The Fire Gilders: A Celebration of Women Poets marking Brigid’s Day & Black History Month | Poetry Ireland

The Fire Gilders: A Celebration of Women Poets marking Brigid’s Day & Black History Month Book Now Monday 1 February at 6PM in Ireland / 1PM EST / 12PM CST Online via Zoom and YouTube Tickets: Free The Fire Gilders: A Celebration of Women Poets marking Brigid’s Day & Black History Month Poetry I...

Source: https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1853674868104322&id=270812589723899&__tn__=-R